• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Am I paranoid?

thholyghst

Heyy so I have a couple of questions regarding my recent additions! I’m new to keeping T’s so I want to make sure I’m doing right by them.

I have a female Avic Avic looking like a 2.5-3” DSL in a large (8x6x14) arboreal Zilla acrylic. About 3-4” of coco fiber sub with a little moss, water dish, faux foliage for cover & a medium cork tube. She really hasn’t moved much at all. I think she’s pretty shy and noticed she scrunches up if she’s disturbed. I have seen her move to different locations on the walls but that’s about it. She hasn’t eaten since I’ve brought her home about a week ago. I’ve offered her mealworms (already had them) but she just covered her face lol. She moves reeeeally slowly but I’m hoping this is just normal behavior and she’s just a timid little thing that’s acclimating?

I also have a Giant Mexican Red Knee? (was told female, was labeled as a B. Hamorii) so unsure on accuracy there. She’s currently in a small 4x4x4 Zilla terrestrial. Once I got her home I noticed she’s a little larger than my Avic, closer to 3.5 DSL and her abdomen is super bald. Definitely got haired rehousing as she’s a bit on the spastic side lol. I’ve offered food to her as well with no interest. I was told she may be getting ready to molt. She has a half buried cork hide, about half her enclosure is sub w/ some moss, water and foliage. I’ve only seen her on top of her hide really lol.

Neither of them have really explored their enclosures to my knowledge but ‍♂️ My question is if I should I put my red knee in a larger enclosure now or wait in case she’s about to molt? I’ve tried meal worms and hornworms with no interest. I’m picking up some Dubias today to try.