• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

A. Chalcodes Feeding Question

Stephanie

3 Year Member
I have a 1/4" A.Chalcodes spiderling. Ive had it for almost 2 weeks and it hasnt eaten at all since i got it. Is this normal for a spiderling this tiny or am I doing something wrong? Ive got it set up in the vial it was shipped in because the spider is too tiny for anything else, and I put water around the rim every night so Its getting hydration. Not sure if its too much or too little as I have zero experience with spiderlings.

tcrave

3 Year Member
sounds like its in premolt. as long as you keep him /her hydrated keep doing what your been doing give it some time he/she will molt soon.

Katus

3 Year Member
I am still really new at T keeping.

I also have a small A.Chalcodes (though not quite as small as yours). He/she is really fickle and won't eat for weeks. In violation of only keeping a prey item in the enclosure for 24 hours I have taken to leaving a very small cricket in her cage so she can hunt and kill it when she feels like it. I made sure to get crickets that are much smaller then she is and I make sure there is a full bottle cap of water in for her to drink out of. I check on her twice a day to make sure the water is full, when I do that I check to see if the cricket is gone. If it is then I wait a week and drop another one in. Oh, and her cage is WAY too big for her but it is the smallest I have, so that might be a factor.