• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

What species would be good for me?

Tbeginner

3 Year Member
Hi, I'm completely new to tarantulas, but I've always liked them and in a few months I will have right conditions to get one.
I'd like to ask what species would be good for me. This is what my ideal tarantula should be in order of importance :
Calm- low probability of running away when I open the tank.
Easy to care for, no special humidity or other conditions, but occasional missing would be OK
I've read on one blog that some species need 20 gallon (70 litre) tank. That's too large for me. 10 gallons would be enough in my conditions.
It should not hide too much, I'd like to see it.
Interesting appearance

I know that this is ideal that does not exist in reality. Each species has pros and cons. But I'd like to know what species meet most of these criteria.
Thank you :)

Enn49

Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
Are you looking at getting a sling or a juvenile? I ask because many slings will burrow to begin with but surface more and more as they grow.
My 2 Brachypelma smithi (Mexican Redknee) have never burrowed even as tiny slings but my Brachypelma albopilosums (Honduran Curlyhair Tarantula) burrowed constantly although I could watch them scurrying around underground. Once the Brachypelma albopilosums reached 1-1.5" dls they began to spend most of their time in the open. Both these species are great feeders and relatively placid.

Tbeginner

3 Year Member
Are you looking at getting a sling or a juvenile? I ask because many slings will burrow to begin with but surface more and more as they grow.