• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

What species is my leggy friend?

dianama

Hi, I'm a relatively new T hobbyist. I've owned one B. Hamorii for a very short time before it ended up dying. I was a mess afterwards and my boyfriend decided to surprise me with what he thought was another B. Hamorii. It's been a few months since then, it molted twice and it became clear (as you can see from the picture) it isn't one. It's about 1.5-2 years old and about 4.5 inches long. I say "about" because it's a bit skittish and I'm too much of a beginner to trust myself in handling it for measuring without hurting it, or having it hurt itself. Last time I tried, it got too scared - and even pooped on me - so I never did it again.
Opinions are split between G. Rosea and L parahybana. What do you think? It also likes to hang out on top of its hide spot a lot, could it be an arboreal species? I just don't want to treat it like a Hamorii when it isn't one, and I'd appreciate your help! Thanks.

IMG_1929.jpg
IMG_1928.jpg

dianama

Oh one quick thing- this species has urticating hairs that can cause nasty rashes, so be careful. Not as bad as theraphosa, but worse than brachypelma or aphonopelma. It will feel like fiberglass
Oh yes, I experience the hair every time I try handling it. I don't even see it kicking them at me but I leave with incredibly itchy hands and sneeze a lot every time. That was the first hint when it was just a sling- B. Hamorii doesn't have it that bad.

octanejunkie

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
Oh yes, I experience the hair every time I try handling it. I don't even see it kicking them at me but I leave with incredibly itchy hands and sneeze a lot every time. That was the first hint when it was just a sling- B. Hamorii doesn't have it that bad.