• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

NotArachnophobic

so im new to tarantula keeping and i have some experience and think im ready for my first OW t. ive been considering an M. Balfouri, a C. Darlingi, and a Marshalli. but i cant decide on which one is better for me. i adore the balfouris colors but it seems less relaxed than the darlingi or marshalli. can someone help me? i dont know.

octanejunkie

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
I keep several old worlds, but neither of the other two species that you mentioned.

Temperament is subjective and individual. I have a few balfouri females with very different personalities ranging from skittish and defensive to completely relaxed.

Enn49

Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
I'll be honest any of the Ceratogyrus genus are lovely Ts and none of mine have ever given me any trouble.

Tarantulafeets

All 3 of your choices are great but I have to go with C marshalli because mines a sweetheart.
P1080439-01.jpeg

Some other options:
O philippinus
Psalmopeous genus (not OW)
H gigas

Arachnoclown

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
Suggestion: Hysterocrates gigas "Cameroon red baboon"
They're diggers and swimmers. Burrows deep but you can always get them to come out and feed. Not aggressive or skittish. Mine have always been pretty confident and not afraid to be seen.
20190101_203609.jpg
20190120_131149.jpg
20190120_140311.jpg
20190618_164537.jpg
20191019_130801.jpg
20191219_185422.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

Spots

Suggestion: Hysterocrates gigas "Cameroon red baboon"