• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Theraphosa stirmi

Tortoise Tom

1,000+ Post Club
I was talking about her on another thread and thought I'd take some pics just for fun. I'm still new to the species, so tips or advice for improvement is welcome. I tried to house her in a 10 gallon tank, but she wouldn't stay on the floor and leave the screen top alone, so I had to move her into this:
IMG_7400.JPG

IMG_7401.JPG

Here is the beautiful lady:
IMG_7403.JPG

IMG_7404.JPG

IMG_7406.JPG

Whitelightning777

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
They climb when they are cold. Set up a hot side / cold side. Instead of going for height and light, the T will go left and right instead.

All my cages for all my tarantulas, even the slings, have screens. None of my terrestrials, not even once, has ever walked upon a screen. As a precaution, all my screens are fully bonded and can't snag any claws or fangs.

Jamie's tarantulas sells a wonderful acrylic enclosure that lacks a screen and doesn't sacrifice visibility. The whole point of having a tarantula is to see it.

You can also use a lower profile glass enclosure like this one I currently have mine in.

Mini me cage moss 1.jpg

Cold can be dangerous because it can lead to falls. The price for this unit is pretty reasonable. Terra blue makes one. So does ZooMed.

Tortoise Tom

1,000+ Post Club
They climb when they are cold.
Pretty sure this wasn't the case for me. My reptile room is set to 78-80 degrees 24/7. Daytime ambient usually climbs to 84-86 with all the heat lamps in the room, and as high as 92 on a super hot summer day. Maybe in my case she was attempting to escape the heat and find a cooler retreat?

Whitelightning777

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member