• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Tarantula in mouth? Handling Q’s

Alexanderx

I have a few noob questions about tarantula’s- mainly about handling them.
Are there any species that like to be handled and are docile?
I’ve seen some tarantula videos where the person will put a massive tarantula in their mouth and then let it crawl out onto their face... I’m an artist and interested in doing similar stunts- would this be safe for the tarantula and me?

Enn49

Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
No tarantulas like to be handled but some will tolerate it. Handling should only be attempted over a soft surface so if the tarantula falls or jumps it can't hurt or worse kill itself.
Anyone who puts any tarantula in their mouth is an idiot. Think of the discomfort if the tarantula kicked hair or bit the inside of the mouth.

T-Baby

3 Year Member
My advise would be and always will be to never handle a tarantula in any way shape or form and that includes stuffing it inside your mouth. They don’t benefit from it, they don’t want it and you run the risk of being bitten and/or dropping which can lead to death. As from an artist perspective, try using different backgrounds/lighting for photos where you can use to draw/sketch or adding your own flare with some props.

m0lsx

Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
I’m an artist and interested in doing similar stunts- would this be safe for the tarantula and me?

Go for it....put one in your mouth!!!!! If you want to be really cool I'd go for a Heteroscodra maculata or Stromatopelma calceatum. :cool:

I like the red & black on the Atrax robustus, or they could do something about liking bananas & then try it with Phoneutria fera.

PanzoN88

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member