• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

tank size

shaun

3 Year Member
When I got my first avic I asked the pet shop what I needed. Was I mis sold the exo terra 12x12x18 inches? The T died and I now have a sling.
I am thinking of down sizing to the nano tall, which is 8x8x12 inches.
Any advice appreciated

m0lsx

Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
I am new to the hobby myself. But, would ask how big is your sling? I had a Caribina Versicolor sling delivered this morning & it is currently in a clear plastic microwave pot, that has a clip on lid & could easily be kept in an even smaller pot. And my adult Phormictopus cancerides, (Haitian Brown,) who is a mature male is in a smaller enclosure than the exo Terra you originally purchased. But there is nothing wrong with giving your T more space than it needs.
Would you suffer in a home that was too big for your minimum needs?
One thing I have learnt on here is that slings sometimes die. That is in part why I ordered 2 slings, plus it increases my chances of getting a female later on.
The pot I have my sling in, are available from poundland at 5 for guess what? Yep a pound. If you have a The Range close by, they sell plenty of smaller plastic tanks for T's that cost from about £3.99 to around £10. Plus they have a decent range of clear plastic kitchen tubs with clip on lids that also make good first homes, if you drill or melt, a few air holes into them & all for a few pounds at most. You would then move your sling into a larger enclosure when it got bigger.
The Range also sells substrate, small bags of sphagnum Moss & other bits & pieces too. My local Range has a better range of items that the neighbouring pets at home.

shaun

3 Year Member