• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Suggestions? Buying? Pinktoes

WVSpiderlover89

3 Year Member
So I'm new here and everything and I've never really tried to look or buy T's online before. I've checked out backwater reptiles online and they seemed somewhat promising but I'd like some input. I see members sell spiders here as well and just didn't really know where to start. I currently own two terrestrial T's and am looking for a manageable arboreal like a Pinktoe to start with or a form of that. I'm not good with Latin names so it's difficult sometimes lol. Any suggestions on where I should get a Pinktoe online that's a decent price? I'm trying to stay on the lower price end since I'm somewhat new to the hobby and getting my feet wet before I start looking for a dream T. Any advice or info is much appreciated. Thanks :)

Meludox

3 Year Member
Don't buy from BackWater Reptiles. Many people who have ordered from them have received dead on arrivals from very poor packaging and wrongly sexed spiders. Some people have said they're great..but it's really not worth the risk.

PetCenterUSA or Jamie's Tarantulas would be good places to start buying from, I think. Both have a lot of species at good prices, excellently packed and they are each very responsive and kind people.

They both currently have some pretty good selections of Avicularia sp.
I would recommend Avicularia versicolor, just to keep things interesting with its gorgeous colors. :)

Meludox

3 Year Member
Don't buy from BackWater Reptiles. Many people who have ordered from them have received dead on arrivals from very poor packaging and wrongly sexed spiders. Some people have said they're great..but it's really not worth the risk.