• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

poecilotheria rufilata communal

terror_corpz

3 Year Member
Hi guys ive been to the BTS Brittsh Tarantula Society and ive come back with 5 p rufilatas this is my first attempt at a communal I will be learning as im going along i will keep this post updated and share my personal experiences.

DAY ONE so all 5 spiders are roughly third instar spiderlings, bought them separately but have come from the same sack. I have transferred all five into a small terrarium and not one of them went for each other. I immediately put 5 crickets in, three of them took the crickets down straight away (these little fellows are nutters) one of them launched himself into the water bowl after a cricket and dragged it out. One thing I have noticed is it is quite amazing that they know what prey is and what is not.
They have interacted with each other for example touching legs two of them even walked over each other (amazing) and no aggression has been shown towards one another. I will keep them well fed, any useful feedback is welcome and I will reply to this post with updates in a weeks time.

Last edited:

Ceratogyrus

3 Year Member
I have 5 rufilata together all around 5th instar and they are as happy as can be. So far they are looking like a good communal species.

terror_corpz

3 Year Member
I have 5 rufilata together all around 5th instar and they are as happy as can be. So far they are looking like a good communal species.
They are unbelievable in a hour ive witnessed 2 go for the same cricket one has just picked a leg up from a cricket and is eating it so they will scavenge but will not attack each other

Ceratogyrus

3 Year Member
Go have a look in the tarantula enclosures section of the forum for my thread on communal spiders.

terror_corpz

3 Year Member