• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

P. subfusca...both LL?

Phil

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Hi pokie experts out there. Got 2 AF P Subfusca that were both purchased as LowLand. There is a slight difference in patterns on abdomen and on the carapace, although not clear in the photo (top), one also has a purple sheen to it too.

Q. Both LL, Both HL or one of each and if one of each, which is which?

Thanks in advance :)
20200712_173818.jpg

ilovebrachys

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Im no expert lol.. This calls for @Arachnoclown as I'm sure he will 100% know.. But from what I can see (I'm probably wrong) but I think the top photo is HL and the bottom photo is LL... The reason I think this is as far as I'm aware the HL has that carapace pattern and the purple sheen the LL has the more defined abdominal markings.. Although we have all the pokies currently available in the hobby - I'm doing my best to learn the difference between them all lol :) always learning...

Casey K.

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
Top picture looks like a HL

Bottom pic looks like a LL (notice the lighter coloration of the carapace)

Also with the LL there is a white patch around/near the eyes and with the HL there is not.

Phil

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member

Also with the LL there is a white patch near the eyes and with the HL there is not.
that's what I was thinking HL top, LL bootom....that's why I put them in that order to send subliminal messages about one being high and one being low ;) :D

Casey K.

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
that's what I was thinking HL top, LL bootom....that's why I put them in that order to send subliminal messages about one being high and one being low ;) :D