• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Not eating

akakallum

hi guys I'm new to the hobby and know that tarantulas can go a while without food but my tarantula hasn't ate since before premolt which was about 3 months ago and refuses to eat and backs away from its food imnusing dubia roaches.

m0lsx

Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
Do you leave food in overnight? Some T's prefer to eat when it's dark & a T can change after a molt. So what it did before is not always relevant after a molt.
Also try smaller food. My wifes Poecilotheria tigrinawesseli is a total woss when it comes to food, anything too big & I mean anything like a standard sized cricket & she hides. But put two or three small ones in at a time & she will eat all she can get, over night.
Another thing worth doing is try some crickets, see it they induce an eating response.
But another thing worth considering, is. If it does not want to eat & T's can go months without eating, then get yourself a cold beer & put something worth watching on the TV, because it could be a long wait.

akakallum

Do you leave food in overnight? Some T's prefer to eat when it's dark & a T can change after a molt. So what it did before is not always relevant after a molt.
Also try smaller food. My wifes Poecilotheria tigrinawesseli is a total woss when it comes to food, anything too big & I mean anything like a standard sized cricket & she hides. But put two or three small ones in at a time & she will eat all she can get, over night.
Another thing worth doing is try some crickets, see it they induce an eating response.