• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Newbie with questions :)

dreamscape

3 Year Member
Hello all!

Newbie here, This week i am picking up a Chilean Rose T but before I do... I have a few questions...

First up, I'm planning to use an old fish tank we have here its 10 inches in depth and 19 inches wide. The top has a hole in and comes off easily which i will obviously fix to avoid my new friend escaping... Is this enclosure big enough? I read online that it needs to be twice the size in leg span in width for a rose... I just wanted to confirm this size will be ok though... Here are some images:

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

Its a tall tank and I'm aware of falling injury's so i plan to fill half of it with substrate (maybe even 3 quarters??) to avoid my T hurting itself should it fall...

This brings me to my next question: What substrate should i use with this type of T?

Here's a picture of him/her which i took at the store shes in at the moment...

4.jpg

If anyone can tell me how old this T might be or if its male or female that would be a big help. It's only £20 ($32) which i think is pretty damn cheap for a T? or is it?

Cheers for any help/advice so far!
emo-spider.gif
icon_mrgreen.gif

Nada

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
That's a tall tank so you'll have to fill all the way up, leaving only 5 inches (12cm). Age is pretty much impossible to determine, Especially from a likely wild caught specimen. For gender we would need a pic of the underside of the Tarantula or the inside of a molt.
The most common substrate is coconut coir. $32 is a little high for a female Rose. The can usually be obtained for under $20.

khatchet

3 Year Member