• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

New tarantula owner with questions

LauraS

3 Year Member
Hello,

I'm new to tarantulas. I got a Mexican Redknee last month and a Curly Hair just this past weekend.

My main question is about my B. Smithi. It's a tiny little sling. It has had at least one molt because there was one in the deli cup when I purchased him. At first he was a great eater (feeding on mealworms and dubia roaches) but the past two weeks he has not eaten. Do you think he is getting ready to molt again? It worries me because he is so small! How long can they go without eating?

He is living in a deli cup with a sponge for water on coco fiber. The substrate is moist (maybe too moist but if he's going to molt I thought that might be a good thing). He is at room temperature (75) with no extra heat and just daylight through the window for lighting.

I'm keeping my curly hair in the same conditions (deli cup, sponge for water, 75 degrees). I have only had it since Sunday and it has eaten two dubia roaches. He's a little bigger then the B. Smithi. I'd guess half an inch.

Do there living conditions sound correct?

Thank you all! I'm very new at this. And to think, I used to be afraid of spiders, lol.

Rockpython

3 Year Member
It might be in premolt. I would remove the sponge and just wet a portion of substrate once or twice a week (if it fully dries).

I've had slings go a month without eating... as long as they are hydrated and look plump, you're ok. Your temperature is OK too

Therasoid

3 Year Member
Hi Laura,
Molt cycles on small slings in Brachypelma genus average from 30-60 days. Dependent upon feeding rate and enclosure temperature.