• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

New Metallic Pink Toe, Questionsss

Sori

3 Year Member
Hey everyone. This is my first time here, and first post. I am a new T owner, and had some bad luck with the baby Salmon Pink Birdeater I had. I bought that one when it was 1/8th of an inch, and it made it through 2 molts to about an inch before it just up and died. No clue how that happened, everything was perfect. Temp/humidity/feeding. It just wound up on it's back for over a week and I eventually just dumped him.

Tragic.

Now I decided to get a bigger one to start out with, and ended up getting a 2.5 inch Metallic Pink Toe.

Over the last 2 days, it has eaten 2 crickets, and has been very docile - Not showing any aggressive behavior, or being skittish in the least. I want this T to be handleable, so I have been petting it a few times each day while gauging it's behavior.

Here is a video I took yesterday morning when I first brought the T home and was getting it prepared for rehousing.

Sorry, there are a few cuss words in there. I have arachnophobia and it took alot for me to open up that container lol. I'm in the process of trying to get over my fear of spiders since it is the only fear I have yet to conquer.

As for the questions, here is a few.

When can I expect it to molt ( what is the cycle for this species ).

It has been sitting in the corner of the 10 gallon habitat away from the corkbark / plants, just sitting on the substrate kind of propped up on the glass. I noticed it spun a little tiny web that looks like a sac, attached to it's underbelly and the glass, and is filled with substrate. I have no idea what this is, but he has yet to move from that spot since I discovered it.