• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

New and first enclosure

Ilovepets4200

3 Year Member
Good morning everyone. I hope everyone have a bless day. I’m new to this so please don’t chew me up. Be nice. I absolutely love fishes and have 2 big tanks. I also have a unused 10G which I want to turn into a nice Enclosure for a nice Big T
I really love the GBB and planed to get it now or some day. I also seen some nice ones from the brachypelma species.
Since I have a nice size Enclosure I’d like to get a Big
I also seen some nice ones from the bac
Today. I put 2 bricks of Ecco coco fiber in the enclosure,tommorrow after work I’ll try to put half a log in there and some fake trees.

What should I do about vents?
Where can I find a good lid for the 10G for my T?
Should I try drilling holes in the tank(substrate is inside already tho)
Where can I purchase some good Ts(currently live in NJ)
Can I keep my enclosure on a stand about 5’ from the heater?(the stand will be taller)
Can I get a GBB T or is it too experience for me?

Just give me some tips and help about setting up an enclosure and the steps after.
Thanks everyone

TheVez2

3 Year Member
Wow, a lot to cover here. I'll do my best.
I put 2 bricks of Ecco coco fiber in the enclosure,tommorrow after work I’ll try to put half a log in there and some fake trees.
How full is your tank? Did you expand the bricks fully? I'd think one brick would be enough for a ten gallon aquarium.
What should I do about vents?
You don't need side vents if you have a ventilated lid.
Where can I find a good lid for the 10G for my T?
I like the ones from Walmart for $8. They are plastic and lock under the lip of the aquarium. there is a screen strip, and they have attachment ports for hamster tubes, which make nice feeding ports.