• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

My Spiderling Won't Eat!

bunnyfluff

Hi. So I'm new to owning a tarantula. I've had my little curlyhair spiderling for about 6 weeks now. She is about 2cm wide and has only eaten once since I've had her (I don't actually know that she's a female!). The coir soil stuff is moist and she seems to have burrowed to the bottom of the little enclosure. It is about 2 inches deep She looks plump and has def grown since I first got her but despite putting crickets in with her every day (taking them out at night) she still hasn't eaten. How worried should I be? Also, can I actually hold her or should I wait until she's bigger? Thanks for your help :)

Tarantulafeets

Welcome to the forum!
If it is plump, you shouldn't have to worry about it having to eat, it could be in premolt so I would just leave it alone and keep a full water dish in there (could be a bottle cap). No need to put in crickets every day, it could just be not hungry.
As for handling, I'm normally against it, as it puts unessecary stress on the animal, and there is always the chance that the spider could fall and rupture its abdomen, or the handler gets haired or even bit. I like to think of them as fish, for you to observe and not take out ;)

bunnyfluff

Welcome to the forum!
If it is plump, you shouldn't have to worry about it having to eat, it could be in premolt so I would just leave it alone and keep a full water dish in there (could be a bottle cap). No need to put in crickets every day, it could just be not hungry.