• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Missing hair and Id needed.

Tigerhawk

I’m new to Tarantula keeping. Someone gave me a tarantula that they could no longer keep along with it’s cage and water bowl with a sponge. Of course I threw the sponge and everything that came with it. I have set it up following the research I have done on this forum and and other sources. So I have a question I was told it is a curly haired T. I have also included a picture of it so that hopefully someone can give me a positive Id. Also if you look at it abdomen near it’s rear end. You will see that it’s missing a patch of hair. What causes this, and how can this be corrected? By the way it was like that when I received it. Thanks in advance for your help.

Attachments

• 1DD5417C-4634-44B5-87A4-9B44FF0DB1CC.jpeg
    1DD5417C-4634-44B5-87A4-9B44FF0DB1CC.jpeg
    775.3 KB · Views: 38

Oursapoil

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
Hello friend,
Congratulations on rescuing this lovely T. 99% sure this is a Tliltocatl albopilosus (ex Brachypelma). The bald spot is due to hair flicking (setae) which is a defensive mechanism and totally normal. It should be flesh colored, once it starts darkening it means your T is in pre-molt. Hope this helps.
Cheers.

Oursapoil

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
It is a curly hair indeed. And a beautiful Honduran version (extra special). The loss of hair is called an urt patch. It is normal as the tarantula ages its exoskeleton. One day your tarantula will molt and the bald patch will be gone. Oh, and congratulations!
Great minds think alike :)
Happy I learnt something new today, thanks to you, as I had no idea the bold patch had a name. Just told Enzo and got a “Duh!” In response.... ;)

Oursapoil

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member