• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Mexican Red Knee Query

Malcspring

Hi folks,
As a newbie tarantula keeper I have loads of questions, many of which have been answered.
Right now my tarantula has not eaten for maybe 2 weeks. I've had it for 10 days and prior to that the guy at the shop said that it was fed maybe 5 or 7 days before that.
I've tried feeding it again today with a locust, but it is not interested. I dropped the locust right in front of it, but no joy.
I've also recently transferred it to a larger vivarium. I don't know if that has unsettled it?
I have a heat mat attached to the rear of the tank and I have created a little den for it.
It has burrowed down right next to the heat mat and is right up against it.
Being a newbie I don't know what is normal behaviour?
Thanks for any hints and info.
Malc

Konstantin

3 Year Member
Hi
we need more information.Size of the spider?
Pictures of the enclosure.
Usually tarantula not eating is rarely a concern. Just make sure it has full waterdish and water available.
I feed mine (4,5 - 5 inch)once a month atm as she is coming for a moult soon I hope and not very keen on eating.
Regards Konstantin

Konstantin

3 Year Member
Also you don't need the heat matt now.I will recommend to unplug it altogether Its warm enough in UK atm.18-33 °C if the temperature I keep mine at depending on season and I don't use heat mats.
Regards Konstantin

Malcspring

Hi Konstantin,
Thanks for your reply. My spider is a young juvenile.
It has yet to eat. I have just dropped a locust in front of it and it was backing away. It is also clinging onto the area of it's vivarium where the heat mat is which tells me it is trying to get warm?
The temp inside is in the region of 22 degrees.