• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Just a thought

newtots

3 Year Member
just wanted to say, don't always listen to the pet store workers.. There are some very knowledgeable ones but also some terrible ones. I got an avicularia avicularia from a local pet store. Personally I would say I rescued it but I'll let others judge that. He's a good 3 1/2-4" male, and they had him in a small critter keeper with not much height. When I bought him (39$) they handed me a g rosea paper and said his care is exactly the same as a g rosea. Now I'm no expert but I'm pretty sure the 2 species are like night and day in their care. My avic is in a large critter keeper right now until pay day which is in 3 days.. But has tons to climb and play on and is much happier

Chubbs

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
just wanted to say, don't always listen to the pet store workers.. There are some very knowledgeable ones but also some terrible ones. I got an avicularia avicularia from a local pet store. Personally I would say I rescued it but I'll let others judge that. He's a good 3 1/2-4" male, and they had him in a small critter keeper with not much height. When I bought him (39$) they handed me a g rosea paper and said his care is exactly the same as a g rosea. Now I'm no expert but I'm pretty sure the 2 species are like night and day in their care. My avic is in a large critter keeper right now until pay day which is in 3 days.. But has tons to climb and play on and is much happier
At least you've got the intelligence/common sense to know when someone is giving bad advice. A lot of people would probably just go "But the guy at the pet store said...." I always tell people you're better off asking questions on a forum such as this one.