• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

is it normal for grammostola?

IiIyth

3 Year Member
my grammostola pulchra web his entrance to his favorite place in terrarium..is it normal for grammostola? what is he doing ? why he blocked the entrance? i read they dont web often,and mostly when they do it they making a bed of silk in premolt time,but this isnt bed :D..thanks :)
image.jpg

IiIyth

3 Year Member
well said :) but i dont know is it a sign of premolt or he make a web to catch a pray or just making himself a home there :D ? any idea ? he molted 7 times..and than i bought him,so his still a baby..and im new to this and dont have idea is it a premolt or what :D

Denny Dee

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
I would guess pre-molt or stress. I would check and make sure your enclosure set up is meeting all the needs of your species (temp/humidity, etc.). Also, is there uneaten food (i.e. crickets, roaches) wandering around? Sometimes that can stress out a T that is not hungry and I have seen them web up to keep the intruder out of the burrow.

Although I have a gorgeous, healthy Haplopelma hainanum (Chinese Bird Eating Tarantula) that spends most of the time in its burrow. She webs over the opening quite frequently(almost daily) and then removes it. Almost like it is her window to the outside world. None of my other T's do that.
Watched her tear through it effortlessly to grab a cricket once. Right time, right place. If you think it may be stress, get us a description of the set up and there are many, many grammostola owners out here that should be able to help.

IiIyth

3 Year Member