• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Is Grammostola rosea "RCF" a pet rock?

Meme_Wizard

3 Year Member
Please forgive me if this isn't the right place to be asking this.

I've been thinking about getting a tarantula to cleanse both my fears of bugs and large spiders, and to have as a neat pet.

The G.Rosea RCF seems like a pretty neat one to start on, but I remember someone calling them pet rocks.

I'm just starting out with the hobby so it's probably better that they are, but if he turns out to be right that seems like a very boring pet. I know every tarantula has it's own 'personality' so it kind of varies, but in your experience, is the G.Rosea very rock-ish?

I found a deal online for both the sling and enclosure for 24 bucks (I still need to buy food and tools) and I am hoping that I'll get enough enjoyment out of the pet to make it worth my (scarce) money.

Thanks in advance!

Enn49

Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
Hi and welcome to the forum. :)

G. rosea can be moody and go on hunger strikes. For a first tarantula I'd recommend any of the Brachypelmas but a favourite of mine is the B. albopilosum (the curly hair). They spend most of their time digging as slings and they are fascinating to watch scurrying around in their tunnels in the substrate but once they reach 1"-1.5" they begin to spend most of their time in full view on the surface. They are very reliable feeders too which is a bonus.

Meme_Wizard

3 Year Member