• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

I NEED HELP!!! (not eating)

Domagoj

Hello guys im new to this business in keeping tarantulas.
For my first one ever I got a Poecilotheria metallica (gender unknown)
She/he had 3 changes of his skin so far. I have her for two month so far and she/he still hasnt ate.
I tried giving her superworms or ****roaches and still nothing she/he is scared of the bugs i drop him and runs away.
Please can you give me some advice or something on how to make her/him start to eat.

Last edited:
E

ExMember

Greetings and welcome to tf. Sounds like premoult behavior. Not sure if pokies fast like rosies as I don't keep them but I would suspect a moult soon :) has it eaten at all in between the "skin changes"?

Enn49

Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
Have you tried it on crickets? I find my P. met prefers smaller food items.

Domagoj

Greetings and welcome to tf. Sounds like premoult behavior. Not sure if pokies fast like rosies as I don't keep them but I would suspect a moult soon :) has it eaten at all in between the "skin changes"?
it has eaten ****roaches or crickets before i bought it and since then i didnt saw her eat at all whenever i throw her food she keeps runing away ... soo it could be a moult soon i know that they arent eating when they are preparing but 2 months are alot or arent soo idk ... thanks anyways

Domagoj

Have you tried it on crickets? I find my P. met prefers smaller food items.
i didnt ... but i give her ****roaches 3 times smaller then her/him and keeps doing the same thing thats why im worried ... i taught the food was to big and tried smaller still the same thing

E

ExMember