• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

I might have screwed up (Molting)

TwinkleToes19

Newbie here with my juvie T. Albo, Turns out when I got her she was in pre molt. I couldn't tell since there was no bald spots and other signs such as not eating I brushed off as her getting used to her new enclosure since it hasn't even been a week since I had gotten her. I dropped a cricket in bc it was about time to try and feed her, and when I checked tonight she started molting and the cricket was nowhere to be seen. Fearing the worst, I checked under her hide gently where she was molting and the cricket was no where to be found so it was probably eaten or dead. However, apparently her web bed was attached to the hide so when I lifted it I ended up tilting her a little. I'm scared I may have just wrote a death sentence for her. I've learned my lesson, but I hope not the hard way.

TwinkleToes19

Newbie here with my juvie T. Albo, Turns out when I got her she was in pre molt. I couldn't tell since there was no bald spots and other signs such as not eating I brushed off as her getting used to her new enclosure since it hasn't even been a week since I had gotten her. I dropped a cricket in bc it was about time to try and feed her, and when I checked tonight she started molting and the cricket was nowhere to be seen. Fearing the worst, I checked under her hide gently where she was molting and the cricket was no where to be found so it was probably eaten or dead. However, apparently her web bed was attached to the hide so when I lifted it I ended up tilting her a little. I'm scared I may have just wrote a death sentence for her. I've learned my lesson, but I hope not the hard way.