1. Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

i cannot explain how much i want to avoid touching a spider

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Basilisk, Jul 27, 2018.

1. Basilisk

Basilisk New Member

Hello, I'm a total noob when it comes to spiders!

I actually don't normally like them because I'm a total weenie, but I have something of a conundrum because I fell in love with the big fluffy jumping spiders that live near my house. I love watching their antics, they're super cute. So I've come here to learn about spiders, overcome my fears, and maybe one day own one of my own!

Apparently a lot of them don't want to be handled as much as I don't want to handle them, so maybe it's okay?

I have moderate experience with reptiles, amphibians, and fish. My favorites in my collection are my largest pacman, Goblin, and my as-yet-unnamed Lacerta. Thanks for reading! I hope I can learn a lot from you guys.
  2. Enn49

Enn49 Moderator Staff Member 3 Year Member 1,000+ Post Club

Hi and welcome. You'll find loads of good advice and info here :).
    You're right tarantulas don't enjoy being handled although some will tolerate it. Most of us prefer to leave them in peace apart from feeding and cleaning. Many of us have been arachnophobes too so we fully understand your fears but tarantulas are fascinating creatures.
  3. Basilisk

Basilisk New Member

Thanks for the welcome! I figure it can't be much different than my pacman frogs, cause I never touch them either.
  4. Arachnoclown

Arachnoclown Well-Known Member 1,000+ Post Club

Welcome to the group. My daughter has raised dozens of tarantulas over her 18 years and to this day she still has never touched one.
  5. Basilisk

Basilisk New Member

Then mission "never touch a spider" is a go!
    Arachnoclown likes this.
  6. Tortoise Tom