• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

I’m an amateur, please help :)

Julieta

So I got my first tarantula about a month and a half ago. It’s a Brachypelma Smithi, she’s pretty young but I don’t know if I could call it a sling. The problem is, she hasn’t accepted any food in 20 days, and I know she might be in premolting, but i think it has been too long, and she hasn’t even started doing her web. I don’t know if it’s because she doesn’t like her enclosure, because she has been digging a lot
Another thing is, I’m pretty sure her leg was injured when I bought it, and it has just gotten worse.

I will insert pictures of the enclosure, the tarantula and her injured leg, and the digging she has done. Please tell me if I should be concerned and what should I change

Attachments

• E065BBC1-41DE-418E-B8A6-71D17F9B793A.jpeg
    E065BBC1-41DE-418E-B8A6-71D17F9B793A.jpeg
    141.2 KB · Views: 42
  • EA37BAB3-4CA4-4F5A-9D40-3E361186FFB9.jpeg
    EA37BAB3-4CA4-4F5A-9D40-3E361186FFB9.jpeg
    158.2 KB · Views: 43
  • B688698C-B0C1-4E7E-B26E-3E4DD1970992.jpeg
    B688698C-B0C1-4E7E-B26E-3E4DD1970992.jpeg
    144.8 KB · Views: 40

Jess S

1,000+ Post Club
I have a B. Smithi sling ( yours has adult colours so not a sling anymore) and it's one of my worst eaters. Plus it also goes on fasts of a couple of weeks at a time and more. It however, is the picture of health. Sizewise, your one looks healthy too so dont worry about it not eating!

The injured leg to me looks like a regenerated leg, meaning that a previous leg got injured and the new one grew back in its place. If the new one is injured, then as the Clown says it will generate another one. The new one will be skinnier than the rest but over a couple of moults, it'll grow until you can't tell a difference between it and the other 7.