• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Hit Me With All The Info You Have!

Jolene

3 Year Member
Quite some time ago I had your basic pink toed tarantula. I bought it as an adult and it didn't live that long. About a year and a half with me. While it lived I got in to a relationship and my new beau said no more spiders!

He has since come in to an addiction of his own where critters are concerned and this weekend....to soften the blow that he purchased another ball python without consulting with me....he bought me a new spider.

Here's the thing. I HATE taking any sort of living thing in to my home without first knowing all there is to know about it. Second, it's a wee little thing. I have zero knowledge on how to care for a teeny, tiny, fragile spider. The adult was fairly easy. But a baby?

He bought me an avicularia versicolour. How long can it stay in a little tub? How long does it take to grow? How many crickets does a wee spider eat? Pin heads I assume? How often do I need to change substrate in such a container? I'm looking at a aboreal habitat? So tall instead of wide, how tall?

I'm feeling a bit overwhelmed by my lack of knowledge and google's wealth of pages that offer a million different answers!

Chubbs

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Quite some time ago I had your basic pink toed tarantula. I bought it as an adult and it didn't live that long. About a year and a half with me. While it lived I got in to a relationship and my new beau said no more spiders!

He has since come in to an addiction of his own where critters are concerned and this weekend....to soften the blow that he purchased another ball python without consulting with me....he bought me a new spider.