• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Help! My o.violaceopes has passed and I have no idea why!

bbyaya

Hello this is my first time posting so I’m not sure if Im posting on the correct forum. I’ve had my Singapore blue for 3-4 weeks and was told that it was around 5 months. Its had no problems with feeding or molting and just this morning was walking around the walls of the cage. I left to run errands and when I came back, it wasn’t moving at all and the more I touched the more it curled into the death curl :( I had the blue next to my older (1-2 years) Costa Rican zebra male and was wondering if whatever affected the Singapore blue can affect the zebra? Or was it bad that I had the two cages in close proximity?

octanejunkie

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
Welcome to the forum.

Too many variables to hazard a guess at circumstances, causes, etc. Are you sure it's dying? Pics maybe?

bbyaya

Welcome to the forum.

Too many variables to hazard a guess at circumstances, causes, etc. Are you sure it's dying? Pics maybe?
It’s body is starting to curl :/. The humidity is always above 70 and temperature ranges from 75-80 but it has a heating pad on one of the sides of the tank.
image.jpg

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    2.2 MB · Views: 9

Oursapoil

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
On this one I believe it is likely something else. I have one that I raise from 1/2”, now a beautiful mature female and humidity has always been higher with this species than pretty much every other Ts (except for the theraphosas). I believe the O. Violaceopes to be very moisture dependent. The key is good ventilation to keep the humid air moving.
This is my current setup for her. Even with a large water bowl I still keep the ground very moist.