• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Hello to all

cubbi1568

I am new to the hobby, I have four tarantulas, how I hope I’m doing a good job. My A. Seemani molted last week, still hiding out underneath its half tree. Beautiful colors. I have six cats, all of varying ages from adults to seniors. I hope to learn more about the care of tarantulas

Attachments

• 680C332C-63BC-4CA4-8487-65BE111A266D.jpeg
    680C332C-63BC-4CA4-8487-65BE111A266D.jpeg
    378.1 KB · Views: 13
  • 1388C55B-0249-463D-8E71-D202B309288A.jpeg
    1388C55B-0249-463D-8E71-D202B309288A.jpeg
    535.4 KB · Views: 14
  • 2D805CC6-A198-4938-A0AB-FDC8E18F2D80.jpeg
    2D805CC6-A198-4938-A0AB-FDC8E18F2D80.jpeg
    1.9 MB · Views: 14
  • 2D805CC6-A198-4938-A0AB-FDC8E18F2D80.jpeg
    2D805CC6-A198-4938-A0AB-FDC8E18F2D80.jpeg
    1.9 MB · Views: 15
  • 85510EB8-2F78-448D-958B-7CAA73E4662A.png
    85510EB8-2F78-448D-958B-7CAA73E4662A.png
    2.7 MB · Views: 14

m0lsx

Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
Hello & welcome.

If that wood is what I think it is, then personally I would change it for cork bark. Soft woods like pine etc are potentially dangerous & not just to Tarantulas, you will find lots of information about it on Rabbit forums etc too.

Pine is used as a disinfectant for good reasons, one being it contains a natural insecticide. Phenol.

And Cedar is as bad too. Yet pet shops still sell those woods, both as hides & within wood shavings, despite these soft woods being known to be fatal, as the hydrocarbons given off by these aromatic woods are known to be breathed in & spread throughout the whole system.

https://worldwidejanitor.com/library/the-benefits-of-pine-oil/

cubbi1568

Hello & welcome.