• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Hello, spider people

Stacey Ryan

3 Year Member
Hi guys,

I'm very new to this hobby/world. I have purchased my first Tarantula, he/she should be arriving on Wednesday. I went for a juvenile b.smithi. I would say that I have done a fair amount of research, especially on the Mexican Redknee, so have answered a lot of the basic questions a beginner would ask. But I know as soon as my new friend arrives I am going to get a ton more.
I have seen and held a tarantula in real life once before and that was like 10 years ago.
I am super excited for him/her to arrive and to set up their new home. I really want to give my little T the best in life, so if anyone had any good tips, I'm all ears.

Stacey.

Enn49

Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
Hi Stacey, welcome to the hobby :). You've made an very good choice of T for your first. If you have any questions don't be afraid to ask.

Stacey Ryan

3 Year Member
Hi Enn49,
I've brought the tarantula (5-6cm) and the tarantula starter kit from the spider shop.com. I am worried that the enclosure will be too large for it. I did phone up and ask, they said it would be perfect size for it to live out the rest of its life in there. But I still worry that it is too big for the spider now.

Enn49

Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
Hi Enn49,
I've brought the tarantula (5-6cm) and the tarantula starter kit from the spider shop.com. I am worried that the enclosure will be too large for it. I did phone up and ask, they said it would be perfect size for it to live out the rest of its life in there. But I still worry that it is too big for the spider now.