• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Hello, ex- arachnophobe, new to hobby, from the U.K

Tabitha

3 Year Member
hello all, I am from the u.k and new here, I keep Chameleons, snakes, dart frogs, insects, jumping spiders, day geckos and various others, I’m an artist and for fun I paint my reptiles and want to paint some t’s too soon.
I’ve been petrified of spiders all my life, to the point it was a serious issue for me,
A year ago I got a jumping spider so I could start to overcome my fears, now I keep tarantulas! at the same time a friend, who also was afraid of spiders, from another forum, got jumpers then went onto become a keeper of several species too so Phiddipus have been great as starter spiders.
I would never of believed I would be in the same room as a spider let alone tarantulas but I keep my T’s in my bedroom, I proud to say I adore them and I love to watch them, and am planning to get more, I have a B hamorii called Phoebe who is 10 cm and a acanthoscurria geniculata, Ofelia, about 8cm and tomorrow a B. Albopilosum, Pandora, arrives tomorrow. I really want to get some more species too.
So hello all and I’m keen to read up and learn as I see how very fascinating and wonderful these creatures are.

Here are my beautiful girls.
F686D0AC-7601-4CA7-96A3-8DCB1D73F09C.jpeg
CA33D2B5-FA84-43F7-BC8C-1BE72AE2685F.jpeg

Tabitha

3 Year Member
Uh oh! I forgot, I have a Chaco golden knee too, Aurelia but she’s so tiny, she’s molted a good five times now but still only 1 or 2cm but she’s very poretty.

PanzoN88

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Uh oh! I forgot, I have a Chaco golden knee too, Aurelia but she’s so tiny, she’s molted a good five times now but still only 1 or 2cm but she’s very poretty.