• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Hello Everyone...

Hello, im new to the Tarantula world kind of. I've thought about getting one for a long time now and I'm finally ready to. I've been researching them and I believe, that i want a GBB. to start out with. But I wanted to see what others think is a good starter.

Dave Jay

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Welcome to the forum!
I can't advise you about what you should get first as I'm in Australia and can only keep native species so I've had to start with old world tarantulas.
Personally I'd say get whatever takes your fancy. As long as you research well before hand you shouldn't have a problem, and there's plenty of helpful people here to guide you on your way.

Arachnoclown

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
Welcome to the forum. A Gbb isn't a bad first T. They're skittish and quick but not defensive. Husbandry wise they are great for beginners. I'd start out with a sling so you can grow with it...a juvenile or adult might be a little overwhelming at first.

Whitelightning777

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Practically any brachy species is good as a large juvenile or sub adult. B vagens grows quickly and looks good so larger spiderlings are a viable choice.

Personally if I had to buy mine all over again easiest to most challenging, I'd start with my Lasiodora Klugi. Any member of the Lasiodora genus will grow fast, eat consistently and are fairly hardy needing no real special climate conditions. Frog moss and a little additional moisture are appreciated however. LP slings and juveniles can even be purchased for under $20 and most attain an 8" leg span.

Acanoscurria species are also awesome for much of the same reasons as Lasiodora species are.