• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Hello and some advice please :)

DThompson

3 Year Member
Hi guys!
So glad I managed to find this forum! I’ve been reading quite a bit and it looks awesome!
I’m new to the hobby and need some advice please..
I have a Brachypelma albopilosum and recently she’s been keeping to herself/himself and stopped eating, after being quite the hungry little spider! I was wondering if she/he might possibly be in pre-molt? She digs herself into the substrate underneath the bark and just stays there.. Will be getting more substrate this weekend..
Thanks!
Danette

Attachments

• 7DA82041-A493-4A6F-A9D2-0566CF6BA590.jpeg
    7DA82041-A493-4A6F-A9D2-0566CF6BA590.jpeg
    185.4 KB · Views: 23
  • D3C2A65E-636E-4C26-AA62-F5E413C8E53D.jpeg
    D3C2A65E-636E-4C26-AA62-F5E413C8E53D.jpeg
    205.5 KB · Views: 23

Dustin Amack

3 Year Member
Yes, definitely get more substrate. Does it have a good hide? I have several albos and they all have their own personality. Just keep offering it food and if it's hungry it will eat. They do what they are going to do... could be premolt, time will tell. Welcome to this awesome hobby and forum!

DThompson

3 Year Member
Hi Dustin, thanks for the quick response! I think the hide is good for her size? She burrowed herself in there pretty good.. Please let me know should you have any suggestions regarding the hide I have in currently..

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    2.5 MB · Views: 29
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    3.6 MB · Views: 29

Dustin Amack

3 Year Member
Interesting set up, I like it. I'm guessing premolt. mine stop eating often just befor molting. Don't stress, it's doing what tarantulas do ;)

DThompson

3 Year Member