• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

grammostola pulchripes feeding what would be better

Shiro44

Hello there im pretty new to the hobby and im about to buy myself a golden knee one and i dont know about the feeding, can i just buy the worms or some hoppers and keep them, and what happens if i only have to feed my golden knee once or twice a month but i keep the hoppers they die because most shops sell a lot of hoppers at once or can i just feed my golden knee dead hoppers? im confused and i need help pls ;-;

Konstantin

3 Year Member
Hi ans welcome to this wonderful forum.
In order to advice we will need to know the size of the T you are getting.Slings need more freding than adults.And It will depend on your particular spider and how it is housed, how often it will eat or not(as tarantula are not any other pet and sometimes they do that..You are in the right place to get sound advice about the peoper care of your T.
Regards Konstantin

Jess S

1,000+ Post Club
You have realised the predicament most keepers after buying their first tarantula have, on what to do with all those extra feeders, ahead of time. The simple solution to this problem is to just buy more tarantulas. ;)

You cannot feed dead insects to a tarantula. Most with the exception of slings are unlikely to take pre-killed prey anyway. If you're feeding pre-killed hoppers to slings then there is an option to freeze them and take one out to thaw and feed. But ideally even slings prefer live prey.

Colorado Ts