• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

First time T owner. Is my pulchra too fat?

x_raphael_xx

Hi all,
I'm new to owing (but have been researching etc for a while before taking the plunge).
I bought my first 3 T's two weeks ago (3/4 cm G.pulchra, 1cm C versicolor and an even smaller tiny sling N.chromatus which was an unexpected freebie)

I've been feeding the pulchra one small cricket every 3 days, which she is happily taking straight away. Her bootie is looking very big and round, and I'm worried I maybe over feeding her.
The other two are on the same schedule, cricket for the versicolor and flies for the chromatus, they look nicely proportioned.

IMG_4972.jpg

Here's my Shelob (yes I know, but I love LOTR) should I stretch out the feedings?

Thank you in advance!

x_raphael_xx

I would definitely put Shelob on a mini diet and wait a week (or two) before feeding her again.

Also, fantastic name! I also have a Shelob! And all my T's are LOTR/Tolkien themed.
Thank you! I'll hold off for a week and see how shes looking.

My versicolor is called Martin, and the chromatus is Queen Gohma (first boss I defeated in my first ever Zelda game) :)

x_raphael_xx

I wouldn't feed on a schedule, but rather of abdomen size. Large abdomens can lead to longer premolts, so I wouldn't feed for a few weeks.
Thank you!

I say schedule, but it's more of me keeping track so I can avoid overfeeding. (Not remembering if I've fed them 2/3 days ago and feeding again etc). And I'm a sucker for a spreadsheet.

The other two look about right, and I will adjust as I go, and get more confident in my husbandry.
It just feels so odd not feeding an animal everyday. When I had to hibernate my tortoise for the first time last year, it felt so cruel not feeding anything for the 3 months before boxing him up! :D