• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Do Avicularias become more calm when they grow up?!

Agno

3 Year Member
As my first T I got an Avicularia Versicolor considering that I have no prior experience with Ts and many suggested that (and also because I like her very much). Unlike all I've seen and read, that Avics are generally very calm, mine doesn't seem to be. She's skittish a lot (I reckon that everyone of them must have their personalities). I got her when she was L1 and now she's around L7 I think. Everytime I move her enclosure a bit, she goes rampant and runs around, enters her web that after few minutes gets out again. I haven't held her in my hand ever because she's been so small and I was afraid of her falling or hurting herself. Now that she has grown a bit bigger, I'd like to take her on my hand occasionally but I'm suspicious! I slightly touched one of her hind legs with my tweezers. She pulled her leg slowly and turned around 360 degrees to face the spot where she was touched. Than I touched her again and she rotated quickly and attacked the tweezer -.-'
So....was wondering (I'm not even sure if she's a female), is there a difference between male/female temperament? And, do they become calmer when they grow up? Should I interact with her more in order for her to get used?
Her enclosure is a bit boring. Lots of empty space apart from some twigs and her web-home. Does this affect her?

Looking forward to your response guys! Thanks

Attachments

• IMG_9179.JPG
    IMG_9179.JPG
    591.3 KB · Views: 47

Fleas

3 Year Member