• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Dish soap

yellow-blob-101

Okay, so my mom has dish soap water in a bottle for her plants, I accidentally used it in my pink toe tarantula Phelma's dirt to wet it.....will this kill her? Is she safe? What do I do? Im new to having her and new to spiders....please help me with my situation

SikmT7

3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
It's ok don't panic, dish soap won't harm them but I would suggest you take her out, and change the substrate as soon as you can to ensure that your T will not be uncomfortable in any way as they just will try to escape because they don't like the soap. T's detect chemical changes and that's how they hunt, along with eye sight and the hairs they use to sense vibrations. Other than that, as long as you didn't spray it directly on your T, she will be fine :). What kind of substrate do you use? I reccomend a 50/50 mix of coconut fiber and peat moss, put at least 4-6 inches in it to ensure that your aboreal doesn't injure herself from a high fall. The enclosure should have more height than floor space as they are climbers. They rarely go to the ground, so provide a nice cork bark hollowed out for a hide and decor such as vines for her to climb. Do not over mist the enclosure, just put a shallow lid for water dish, keep it overflowed, make sure there is plenty of ventilation in the enclosure as this is crucial for aboreals especially A avicularia. When you do mist the enclosure make sure the substrate is completely dried out before you do. Pink toes are great beginner T's and as long as you care for them properly you will really enjoy this species, they are sweethearts :).

Last edited:

yellow-blob-101