• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Dehydration and Substrate

TwinkleToes19

To preface I am a newbie. Today I learned hydrometers suck, it read high and my poor juvie T. Albo was sitting in her water dish. I did some research and learned how unreliable humidity readers are, I went ahead and dripped water in the edges of her enclosure. Couple hours later she was out of her dish. Now that I know I just need to eyeball the substrate, how do I know when to moisten the substrate? I don't want to overdo it of course. Also I set up her enclosure a day ago, and I'm wondering if it dried out due to the heater I have set to 75 degrees Fahrenheit. It is also not near her enclosure.

Lentulus

3 Year Member
When you fill the water dish, just overfill slightly. You’ve only had the critter in there for a day. Try to relax a little, let the spider settle. If the spider is dehydrated, their butts shrivel and it’s pretty obvious visually. Stressing about specific temps and humidity is overkill for this species. Is the heater necessary? Is your home freezing to the point you need to walk around all bundled up? If you feel fine walking around in casual clothing, the temps are fine for your T as well. For example, my home has been in the upper 60’s this winter and all my T‘s are doing well. It’s more often hot and dry where I live. I never stress humidity. Worse thing that happens, I just need to fill the water dishes more often.

There are species that are more sensitive to environmental conditions. The ones :T:we keep are pretty easy going and don’t fall into that.;)

TwinkleToes19