• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Changing enclosure - advice needed

humble_human

3 Year Member
Hey there,
So after learning more about what my G.Rose Atticus needs - we decided that we're going to downsize her tank (form a 40 gallon to an 8 gallon) and add WAY more substrate. My question is this - is it okay to move her while she has barricaded herself in her half log? I don't believe she's molting or anything. Thanks in advance :)

octanejunkie

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
The rule of thumb with enclosure sizing is 3-4x the DLS (diagonal leg span) of the T and 1.5-2x DLS free climbing height.

How large is Atticus?

DustyD

1,000+ Post Club
Tarantula Club Member
I am relatively new to tarantulas, having kept them for about nine months. Me personally, I would wait and see if Atticus comes out. She’s in there for a reason.

So unless there is something in her environment that is causing her to hide, I would wait.

I am hoping that someone with more experience will comment.

humble_human

3 Year Member

humble_human

3 Year Member
I am relatively new to tarantulas, having kept them for about nine months. Me personally, I would wait and see if Atticus comes out. She’s in there for a reason.

So unless there is something in her environment that is causing her to hide, I would wait.

I am hoping that someone with more experience will comment.
True...she's been in there for a few weeks now. I'm a little worried. Should I be putting crickets in or no? Do G.Roses hibernate?

octanejunkie

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
Currently there are no crickets. I usually buy them weekly but she's been holed up so I paused cuz I didn't want them to hurt her if she was going into pre molt mode. It's been a few weeks since she's eaten.