• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

US Brachypelma vagans and Grammostola pulchra wanted

EntogirlCSU

3 Year Member
Hello, I am trying to get some adult or sub-adult females of these two species. I am an entomology extension agent in CO and I'm trying to put together some display animals for 4-H and school trips. Everyone that comes into my office sees my GBB cage (always a hit to feed him in front of children), so I bought some slings from Jamie's last week to increase my collection. However, it is hard to get children excited about the little baby guys so I wanted to get some larger display species. I am still relatively new to the hobby and the GBB is 1.5 yrs (male bought as 3/4'' sling) and I have a P. metallica that is 2.5'' long that I got from Jamie's in Nov. as a 1'' sling. I am learning how to care for the little 1/2'' guys I just bought and they have survived 2 weeks so far. I have been reading a lot about how to care for the tiny babies. Please let me know if you have any ladies available or suggestions for display species for a developing insect zoo. Thanks.

Mr. P

3 Year Member
A Lasiodora Parahybana is great for beginners. They are fast growing and one of the largest T's out there. They are not brightly colored but they will stay out in the open on display and are great eaters. They are also fairly cheap for a good size T.

EntogirlCSU

3 Year Member
Wonderful! I think I saw someone had a female of that species for sale in the other forum. I"ll have to look into that one, not flashy like you say but the children would still love it :)

Thank you for your service and sacrifice Mr. P, my sister and family are stationed at Pearl Harbor at the moment.

Casey K.

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member