• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

best size enclosure for adult femaleT stirmi

Whitelightning777

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
ExoTerra makes 2 enclosures that I like but each is a different size.

One is 18x18x12. The other is 18x24x18, which is about $50 more but otherwise very similar. In both cases, there's ample room for a deeper layer of substrate.

Overalll construction between both is very similar.

A T stirmi might even get to 11" DLS, but 9" DLS is more common from what info I've been able to find.

Logan D

3 Year Member
honestly go with the bigger one when I had my adult female I had her in a 55gal tank with land elevations and multiple hides with logs and plants and a huge shallow water dish and she thrived really well

Tortoise Tom

1,000+ Post Club
I'm new to the species, but the one I got from Metalman is a BEAST! She's about 6-7" and she's in a sterilite tub that is about 18x24". I tried to keep her in a 10 gallon tank that was 10x20", but she kept climbing up and messing with the screen top and I didn't want her to get stuck or injured. I can't imagine keeping her in anything smaller than that. Knowing how big they can get, I'd go with the bigger one, but watch out for that screen.

Whitelightning777

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
They have bonded screens from the factory. Putting the hides lower down ought to discourage climbing as should excessively low temps.

I've found with all of my species, different though they may be from one another, they go for height and light when they are cold and go down and dark when to warm, regardless of where the heat is coming from.