• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

mak_manning3

Hey guys! So I'm new to the hobby and I'm super interested in the brachypelma vagans. I am currently on the search for an adult male or female (preferably female but I won't be picky). If any of you could please help me find a reliable site to purchase one or if one of you have one and would be willing to ship to Georgia, that would be AWESOME! I've also considered purchasing a B. vagans sling so I could watch and appreciate the entire process but as a beginner this makes me a bit nervous.. I can also be a bit impatient as I have read that they grow relatively slow. Any advice would be appreciated just in case I decide to go this route and any insights on what I can expect as far as growth rate would be much appreciated!

Huntzman90

3 Year Member
Hello and welcome ☺

Yes what Lawrence said!

I have only been in the hobby 10 months and started with a B. Albo sling. I now have four T's all purchased as slings, two are now juveniles. I must say I have enjoyed watching them grow.. Its been quite an exciting experience. I got into the hobby because I wanted to learn as much as possible about tarantulas and I think this is a great way.

But yes some species, especially brachys, can grow really slow. This is why I think alot of people want to start with an adult. If you do go for an adult deffinitely look for a female, they may be more expensive but its because a mature male will typically not last very long.

Keep us updated and feel free to ask any questions. This is a great forum and can be very helpful. There are some very knowledgeable and experienced keepers here that seem more than happy to help us noobs

RonC

3 Year Member