• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

B.vagans safety question from newb.

Tabitha

3 Year Member
Hi all, so I got a brachypelma vagans, Regan,
I’m a novice so I’d like to ask about the safety of this species, I’m a little freaked out because I just read for this species the hairs have got barbs that if you get them in your eyes you go blind and you can only get them out via surgery! That’s what the article said anyway.
So first of all I won’t be handling any of my Ts, and when I come to transfer or remove a molt or do any work with them it will be gloves, goggles and mask, inc tongs, so I’m careful and becoming even more careful, but is this information correct, I realise they all have urticating hairs but does this extreme warning apply to all and for some reason they highlighted this species? And if I make sure I wear safety equipment is there a risk that the hairs can still float around? When I remove a molt I don’t walk with it, I remove and put straight into a pot and put a lid on,
Or is it so remote I am o.k, I’m going to take no chances though.

Enn49

Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
Almost all New World Ts have urticating hairs on their abdomens but they vary in the adverse effects they have on us humans, I believe the Lasiodoras are amongst the worst. I have several Brachypelmas and they rarely, almost never, kick hair but you can see them doing it with their back legs so you can take precautions if you catch them, like shutting your eyes.. It is wise to use tongs to remove the moults.
If you move slowly so you don't startle them you should be safe without full battle armour.

WolfSpider

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member