• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Aparently I'm a Shroom Farmer

KIM QUY

3 Year Member
Woke up and of course I had to go check on my babies. Aaaaand saw this wee lil mushroom sprouted overnight INSIDE my baby enclosure! I baked that substrate (topsoil) prior to putting it into the enclosure!

full

shroom-farmin.6174

Last edited:

Tortoise Tom

1,000+ Post Club
Picture isn't showing for me.

I had some weird little yellow fungus pop up overnight in one of my enclosures. I didn't get a pic. I just removed it all with a spoon.

Mr. P

3 Year Member
Shrooms need moist soil and high nitrogen to feed off of and you usually get that ftrom decomposing matter. Tarantula waste and food parts can create the decomposing nitrogen so you may just need to do a little house cleaning to rmove those conditions.

Also, shrooms release millions of spores so if the conditions stay the same the shrooms will come back.

Tortoise Tom

1,000+ Post Club
I get that type of shroom popping up all over my back yard every spring. I pull them out and chuck them.

Changing subjects: That is an awesome tarantula! What species is it? I don't want to guess and be wrong.

KIM QUY

3 Year Member
I get that type of shroom popping up all over my back yard every spring. I pull them out and chuck them.

Changing subjects: That is an awesome tarantula! What species is it? I don't want to guess and be wrong.