• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Another UK Newbie, long story involving False Widows.

Blueberry Widow

Hi all, another newbie here,

I wanted to give a bit of background, its a long story , so please bare with me. I think you'll find it interesting.

Until today all I had was a 9 month old Curly Hair Tarantula that I grew from a sling. Now I have a Greenbottle Blue Sling. Guess its time to admit I'm in the hobby. Will post that story another time. I refer to all spiders as her, as I do not have the knowledge to sex them & I just think of spiders as female.

Like many 2 years ago I was a staunch arachnophobe. With a particular fear of the False Widow Spiders that are found here in the UK. A member of staff at my daughters primary school actually managed to get bitten by one on the playing field & nearly wound up having to have a skin graft. She showed me photos of the bite. Nasty doesn't get near to describing it.

I am also the animal care assistant at the same school. When I had to dismantle & move the Eglu chicken enclosure teachers & pupils nearby stopped & stared as I let out various shrieks & yells, occasionally jumping back, whilst doing so. I didn't care. Apparently the inside of the clips I was taking apart were ideal spider homes & seemed to be in every one I had to open. They also liked to fall on me as I moved the mesh. Only my duty to the chickens got me through it.

Then one day I found a False widow in my children's bedroom, that was very clearly visible. So I caught it in a cup. Now I had a dilemma. I didn't want to just chuck it out the window, in case it returned. Being an animals lover I couldn't just kill it.