• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Advice needed on poecilotheria metalica

Gordon

3 Year Member
Hi guys I am new to the hobby of keeping ts and and currently just own 1 brachypelma smithi juvenile and getting on great with her, allready I can see it makes sense to get more ts and not waste as many feeder bugs, I'm really wanting g to keep a poecilotheria metalica and poecilotheria regalia allthough I understand that these aren't meant for the begginer, basically what I am wanting to figure out is can i handle this type of t? I don't mean handle as in pick it up or hold I wouldn't dream of handling a pokie. I feel like if it's safely in a display terrarium and I'm carefull dropping in food for her there is no need to wait for more experience before getting the ts I want, I am new to this so if this just sounds ridiculous please say so and reasons why. If I'm being careful is there any reason a newcomer couldn't own one of these beauties? Thanks for taking the time to read and help a newcomer learn

Enn49

Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
My second T was a P.metallica, my first was an OBT, so you could say I started at the wrong end of the scale and I got slated on another forum for being stupid enough to buy them.

My view has always been that as long as you fully understand what they are capable of, treat them with respect and always keep an eye on them when feeding or doing maintenance then you can safely keep a P. met. Mine is in fact one of my calmest Ts although when she was a sling she could be incredibly fast. A good pair of tong is always recommended.

Gordon

3 Year Member