• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Accidental newby from California

Calico

3 Year Member
Hi all! I am totally new at this as I became a tarantula owner by accident. My husband went camping in the California desert and this little guy hitched a ride home with him in one of his bags! Now, I am the biggest arachnophobe there is and I never imagined I'd be one to even consider having a tarantula. But when we couldn't find any place that would take it and a 2 hour drive back to the desert, we decided to take the leap and give him a home.
So "Cal" and I will be asking lots of questions to try to help make this relationship work and I thank you all for letting us join your group.
Here is a picture of the moment he was discovered. He's definitely a baby or juvie as he's only about 2 inches. I think he is a Desert Blonde from what I have researched. If someone thinks otherwise, I'd like to know for sure.
Thank you!!
20170514_081657.jpg

ManlyMan7

3 Year Member
He does look like a desert blonde, but there is much need for work on taxonomy in American species, so it is hard to be sure.

At any rate, welcome to the hobby! You can't be the biggest arachnophobe in the world since your cute little T is still alive. And I know a number of former arachnophobes who are now arachnophiles. They grow on you.

If you haven't heard already, there is no such thing as a deadly tarantula, and in some 10 years in the hobby with much hands on time with over 40 species, I have never been bit (though that is certainly possible). All that to say, once you get to know them, they are no where near as scary as we think.