• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

A Seemanni a good first T?

RachelC

3 Year Member
Visited a local pet store today that I haven’t been to in years. They had a few Ts and I’m debating. Is an A seemanni a good beginner? I’m so tempted to go back and get one. :rolleyes:

Nunua

3 Year Member
I'm new in the hobby, but as far as I know, A. seemanni can be decent for a beginner as long as the owner has common sense. They're pretty hardy, easy to keep Ts but tend to be skittish, fast, and may have a ferocious feeding response.
Some more skittish individuals can throw a threat pose at you, but you'll find out the character of the individual by studying it's behavior. Therefore I'd say that if you feel comfortable having a more or less skittish T and respect its behavior, you should be absolutely fine.

Last edited:

PanzoN88

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
I'm new in the hobby, but as far as I know, A. seemanni can be decent for a beginner as long as the owner has common sense. They're pretty hardy, easy to keep Ts but tend to be skittish, fast, and may have a ferocious feeding response.
Some more skittish individuals can throw a threat pose at you, but you'll find out the character of the individual by studying it's behavior. Therefore I'd say that if you feel comfortable having a more or less skittish T and respect its behavior, you should be absolutely fine.
To add to what @Nunua said, I have heard that they like to burrow quite a bit, making them not always visible.

Arachnoclown

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member