• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

A polite rant

MassExodus

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
This post is for new hobbyists. I'm Waylon, I've been keeping tarantulas for 8 years or so. I've learned many things about them, but I'm by no means an expert. There are people in this forum with FAR more knowledge than I. I can only speak from my own experiences keeping all kinds of tarantulas. Consider me the average keeper. There's my disclaimer ;)
If you come into this hobby wanting an obt, a poeci, or another of the "hotter" old world species, I have some advice I'd like to share.
If you're an intelligent adult, and don't have an irrational fear of spiders, then do your research. Watch videos, read blogs, posts, etc, until you've learned all the info you can on that species, and buy the damned spider! If you go on a forum and say "hi, I'm new to tarantulas, and I'm getting a poeci!" You will be inundated with discouraging comments, and on one particular forum, flayed alive and salted. Many of these comments will be from people just repeating what has been beaten into them by the dissaproving masses, who don't even have practical experience with the species in question. Read. Research. Watch videos, they're very important tools for learning.
(I often think that this fearful attitude is brought to this hobby by arachnophobes who use tarantulas to cure their illness. Perhaps not phobics, but just people who keep animals they fear? Dunno, but it pisses me off.)
Now, if you DO fear spiders, and close interactions with them, then perhaps the "ladder system" IS right for you. Get a Brachypelma or something to start with. Personally, I like them better than poecis, hell, better than ANY old world spider..yes, I mean it.