• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Possible tarantula owner

Drago

3 Year Member
Hello all, I am new here but very excited to be part of this community! I have been toying with the idea of getting myself a tarantula for a few years now, but have never felt as ready as I am now. My only problem is that I feel as though I'm going to be nervous to handle/put my hand in the enclosure. This is a worry for me as I really love and respect tarantulas and would love to see such a beautiful creature join in with my animal menagerie! So I guess I'm in need of some tips to get over worry of tarantulas, remember I'm a complete newbie so I don't know too much in general about these little guys (though I'll be doing much more research once I find a species I seem to like) so does anyone have experience and can put my irrational fears to rest?

Enn49

Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
Hi and welcome.
You don't need to handle your tarantula, they don't enjoy it. Most of us use tweezers or tongs to remove rubbish from their enclosures.
Are you thinking of buying a sling or a juvenile?

Drago

3 Year Member
Thank you for the quick response! I'm not 100% sure which I'm going to get quite yet, but I'm leaning more towards a juvie as I think they'll be a bit bigger and maybe easier for me to care for, but if you think a sling would be better I'd definitely listen to your suggestion!

Enn49

Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member